Staff Spotlight: Kelsey Lanning

Global Experiences Manager, Program Manager, & Statistical Analyst, Education Abroad

Salamanca, Spain – Spring ’14


An interview with Kelsey:

Q: Where did you study abroad and how was your experience there?

A: I studied abroad spring semester junior year in Salamanca, Spain (spring 2012) and I absolutely loved it! Studying abroad is by far the best thing I’ve ever decided to do.

Q: What was your favorite part of your living situation while abroad?

A: My roommates were definitely my favorite part of my living situation. Especially my roommate, Anna, from the Netherlands that lived in the homestay with me for the full semester. I had the opportunity to live with women from Spain, the Netherlands, Japan, USA, and England during my semester in Spain.

Q: Where do you hope to travel next?

A: I haven’t stopped traveling since I got back from study abroad and I don’t plan to stop anytime soon! I have been traveling around Latin America since I returned from study abroad (Colombia – March 2012, Costa Rica – November 2012, hopefully the Dominican Republic soon). I really hope to explore Southeast Asia and Oceania in the near future!  But honestly… I want to see the whole world!

Q: Is there anything that you discovered while abroad that you wish we had in the US? (maybe a type of food or candy, or a clothing store, or something along those lines)

A: Tortilla Española! I fell in love with Tortilla Española the first time I tried it.  I have attempted to make Tortilla Española in the states and am slowly getting better.

Q: What was your best day you had while traveling? (Or one of your best days)?

A: It’s hard to pick just one day but off the top of my head, but one of the best days I had while I was abroad was the day I rode camels in Morocco. I woke up in the Sahara Desert in a tent with fellow ISA students. We watched the sunrise over the sand dunes, ate breakfast with the locals, rode camels to a nearby town, visited multiple shops within the town, and then climbed to the top of a huge sand dune to watch the sunset. When we got back to camp we watched a local band perform traditional music while we ate dinner and received henna tattoos.

Q: Who was your favorite college instructor and why were they your favorite?

A: Karen Malcolm (Spanish department). She was my favorite because she would always make class enjoyable and make the students smile multiple times throughout the class period.

Q: What is the best part of being a peer advisor?

A: The best part about being a peer advisor is getting the opportunity to interact with so many students, faculty, and staff members in a variety of settings throughout the university.

Leave a Reply

